Aztec Records

Buffalo: Mother's Choice

Aztec Records / Aztec Music

Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Release Date: December 18, 2006
Format: Audio CD
Label: Aztec Music

Track Listing

  1. Long Time Gone
  2. Honey Babe
  3. Taste It Don't Waste It
  4. Little Queenie
  5. Lucky
  6. Essukay
  7. Sweet Little Sixteen
  8. Be Alright
  9. Bonus Tracks:

  10. The Girl Can't Help It (Single B-side)
  11. On My Way (Single B-side)


The band wanted to call the album Songs For The Frustrated Housewife or Thieves, Punks, Rip-Offs & Liars but were overruled by their record company!

With the line-up of Dave Tice, bass player Peter Wells, drummer Jimmy Economou and slide guitarist Norm Roue in place, the early months of 1975 found the band working in new guitarist Karl Taylor. The band’s sound changed immediately, with a more rock’n’roll edge dominating. As Tice recalls, “The change in the Buffalo sound was completely down to the change in line up. That whole organic approach where John came from, that worked for us at the time whereas Karl Taylor and Chris Turner, a bit later on, were formalised in their playing. They were both very formally educated players, much more traditional in their approach. The idea of getting into a rehearsal room with Karl or Chris and just jamming for a few hours, and saying ‘that was good, let’s take that and work with it’, all that was out the window.

Overall, the stripped-down rock’n’roll sound on display is certainly accessible and energetic, with the band coming on like some of those London pub-rock bands, such as Dr Feelgood and Ducks Deluxe, simultaneously hitting their straps over in the UK.

Package Contents

Mother's Choice, presented embossed 6 panel digi-pak with booklet filled with rare photos & liner notes by Ian McFarlane.


Aztec Records, devoted to providing you original, rare and re-issues of the best Rock and Jazz music from Australia and Around the World.