Aztec Records

Cybotron: Implosion

Aztec Records / Aztec Music

Sold out.

Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Release Date: February 27, 2006
Format: Audio CD
Label: Aztec Music


Track Listing

    1. Eureka
    2. Implosion
    3. Suite 16/9th Floor
    4. Encounter
    5. Black Devil's Triangle
    6. We'll Be Around

Bonus Tracks

  1. Abbey Moor
  2. Peter Gunn
  3. Unorganization
  4. Detective
  5. March
  6. Eureka (Guitar Version)


Formed in 1975 by Australian synth pioneer Steve Maxwell Von Braund, with fellow musician Geoff Green, Cybotron paved a new musical path for Oz electronic music. Combining prog, kraut rock, and grafting an avant-garde darkness, Cybotron opened up a new sonic world to Aussie audiences. Von Braund found inspiration whilst living in England in 1970 having witnessed live bands like Pink Floyd, Hawkwind, Can etc., and brought these influences back with him upon his return to Melbourne when forming the band, Implosion was Cybotron’s third full-length release.

Unleashed in 1980 to melt people’s minds, it featured Von Braund, Mark Jones and Gil ‘Rats’ Matthews (of Billy Thorpe & The Aztecs fame), who produced the album both at his home studio and at legendary Armstrong’s Studios. It is a symphony of sound, ultra-dramatic and presents a super mind-bending inter-galactic journey. Lovers of Can, Neu, Faust, Amon Duul II, Kraftwerk, Tangerine Dream etc. will find inspiration in Cybotron’s Implosion.

Package Contents

Deluxe version, six-panel digi-pak. Digitally remastered with extensive liner notes containing new interviews and rare photos plus six bonus tracks – five from Cybotron’s uncompleted and unreleased 1981 album Abbey Moor (one being a curious version of Mancini’s Peter Gunn theme).


Aztec Records, devoted to providing you original, rare and re-issues of the best Rock and Jazz music from Australia and Around the World.