Aztec Records

Band Of Light - Total Union

Aztec Records / Aztec Music

Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Release Date: May 15, 2006
Format: Audio CD
Label: Aztec Music


Track Listing

  1. My First Home
  2. Free Them from Hunger
  3. Spaces of Time
  4. If
  5. Earthbound Blues
  6. The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse

Bonus Tracks

  1. The Destiny Song
  2. Over “B”
  3. Moonstruck
  4. Messin’ with the Kid (live)
  5. The Cat


Band Of Light, formed in October 1972 by Phil Key (vocalist and rhythm guitarist from legendary New Zealand band The La De Da’s). Ian Rilen (later a key member of both Rose Tattoo and X) replaced Peter Roberts (also ex-La De Da’s) on bass after just 3 gigs. Master slide guitarist Norm Roue (later to join Buffalo) and experienced drummer Tony Buettel (The Valentines) completed the line-up.

By the time the Total Union album appeared in August 1973, they were on a roll and it represented a definite peak in the band’s career. Across the six tracks, the band’s music is raucous and raw, yet simple and powerful, with Roue’s unique slide explorations splashed liberally over the top

Package Contents

One of our most anticipated reissues yet, Total Union is digitally remastered with 5 bonus tracks. It is packaged in a 6 panel digi-pak, with rare photos and extensive liner notes from noted Australian Rock writer Ian McFarlane.


Aztec Records, devoted to providing you original, rare and re-issues of the best Rock and Jazz music from Australia and Around the World.