Aztec Records

Sold out.

Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Release Date: August 13, 2007
Format: Audio CD
Label: Aztec Music


Track Listing

      1. Boys Next Door
      2. One Of My Best Friends
      3. Leave It To Me
      4. Chelsea Kids
      5. Doe See Doe
      6. I Don't Wanna Go Home
      7. Filter Tip
      8. It's Alright
      9. GIve It Up
      10. Something Else

        Bonus Tracks (Singles 1979 & 1980):

      11. Chelsea Kids (A-Side Edit)
      12. I Wanna Be Your Man (B-Side)
      13. All Day And All Of The Night (B-SIde)

        Demos 1978:

      14. Boys Next Door
      15. Give It Up

        Demos 1979:

      16. I Wish
      17. One Of My Best Friends
      18. On The Wall

        Video 1979:

      19. Chelsea Kids 


Melbourne’s La Femme were a fascinating meld of late Seventies influences: punk, new wave, glam and hard rock. Their 1979 debut single Chelsea Kids is one of the all-time classic Australian singles and their only LP: La Femme, is arguably one of the best to come out Melbourne ’s late 1970’s punk/new wave scene (which included Models and The Boys Next Door). It contains many fine examples of the band’s confident, swaggering glam-infused punk-metal sound. Lead singer Chane Chane was a charismatic, hyperactive front man, a refreshing personality with a strong audience rapport. Guitarist Brett Walker was a real live flashy guitar hero for the times, coming on like a punk-metal Mick Ronson by pealing off large chunks of dense power riffing when other guitarists were still going plink-plonk. The thuggish rhythm section of Peter Kidd and Graham Schiavello played it mean and hard, providing the relentless, driving beat.

They toured constantly, built up a huge support base on the suburban pub circuit, scored several prestigious support gigs, made three appearances on Countdown (one of the first punk/new wave/alternative bands to do so), released one of the great Melbourne punk albums and yet they never rose above being a cult attraction. Our deluxe reissue has been digitally remastered from the original tapes.

Package Contents

Aztec Music’s deluxe reissue, digitally remastered by Gil Matthews, liner notes by Ian MacFarlane and a 24 page booklet with many rare photos.


Aztec Records, devoted to providing you original, rare and re-issues of the best Rock and Jazz music from Australia and Around the World.