Aztec Records

The Numbers: Numerology 1979-1982

Aztec Records / Aztec Music

Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Release Date: October 31, 2007
Format: Audio CD
Label: Aztec Music


Track Listing

    1. The Modern Song
    2. Five Letter Word
    3. Mr. President
    4. Jericho
    5. Big Beat
    6. Turn Back
    7. Dreams From Yesterday
    8. Alone
    9. Partys
    10. Dancer
    11. Secrets
    12. Day To Day
    13. Again
    14. Take Me Away
    15. Blacktown
    16. When I Get Older
    17. Hello

Bonus Tracks:
Govt. Boy EP (1979)

  1. Govt. Boy
  2. Private Eyes
  3. Guerilla


The core, and only constant during their five year career, of The Numbers was the brother and sister team of Chris and Annalisse Morrow. In Chris, they had an excellent songwriter and inventive guitarist and, in Annalisse, an equally accomplished musician and a striking focal point.

Over the course of 3 years, The Numbers released one E.P., six singles and two LP's. Many will remember them from their numerous Countdown appearances and their first two singles, the hits: ‘The Modern Song’ and ‘Five Letter Word’ and their self-titled debut LP. However, there’s a whole lot more to their story. Although The Numbers reached their commercial peak early (‘Five Letter Word’ was their last charting single), they continued to release excellent material – four more singles and a neglected second album: 39.51 (the title was a curt response to the criticism of their debut LP’s 28 minute length).

Because of this, many did not get to hear some of their best material- and is the reason that we are releasing a compilation that covers The Numbers’ entire career (including the ultra rare indie label release: Govt. Boy - one of the all-time classic Australian debuts).

The 20 tracks on this compilation have been selected from their singles, their two LP's: The Numbers and 39.51, plus two non-LP b-sides: 'Take Me Away' and 'Alone', and, as a bonus, their entire three track E.P.: Govt. Boy.

Package Contents

Aztec Music’s deluxe reissue is packaged in a 6 panel digi-pak, with a 24 page book containing many rare photos and extensive liner notes by Ted Lethborg. Numerology 1979-1982 was remastered by Gil Matthews.


Aztec Records, devoted to providing you original, rare and re-issues of the best Rock and Jazz music from Australia and Around the World.