Aztec Records

Harem Scarem: Pilgrim's Progress

Aztec Records / Aztec Music

Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Release Date: February 12, 2008
Format: Audio CD
Label: Aztec Music

Track Listing

  1. Last Stand Man
  2. Miracle Mile
  3. Open Up And Bleed
  4. Run On Down The Line
  5. Lowdown
  6. Animal Tracks
  7. Cold Change
  8. Pilgrim’s Progress
  9. Hard Rain
  10. Let Me In
  11. Bonus Tracks:

  12. Dead Of The Night (B side to Miracle Mile single)
  13. Sweet Thing (B side to Hard Rain single)
  14. Pilgrim’s Progress (Live)
  15. Let Me In (Live)
  16. Dogman (title track of 1984 EP)
  17. Love Attraction (from Asleep at the Wheel, 1984)


Harem Scarem emerged from Melbourne's mid-80's indie scene, but, it could be argued, were closer in sound to classic Australian blues-rock from a decade before (Dingoes, Coloured Balls, Chain, Rose Tattoo etc.). Their sound was infused with a heady mix of punk spirit and Stax soul that also made them contemporaries of the likes of The Gun Club and the Beasts Of Bourbon.

Harem Scarem first appeared on the Melbourne Psychobilly compilation “Asleep at the Wheel”. They soon developed (via the “Dogman” EP and some key line-up changes) into a powerhouse live act, where Christopher Marshall's extraordinary, passionate vocals combined with Charlie Marshall's stonesy guitar.

With the classic line-up of the Marshall brothers, Barry Palmer (guitar), Glen Sheldon (bass), Peter Jones (drums) and Chris Wilson (harmonica & sax), the band went into the studio with producer John Archer (Hunters & Collectors) and emerged with this, their masterful 1986 album: Pilgrim's Progress.

Package Contents

Collectors 6 panel digi-pak packaging with booklet.


Aztec Records, devoted to providing you original, rare and re-issues of the best Rock and Jazz music from Australia and Around the World.