Aztec Records

Mighty Kong: All I Wanna Do Is Rock

Aztec Records / Aztec Music

Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Release Date: July 24, 2008
Format: Audio CD
Label: Aztec Music

Track Listing

    1. All Through the Day (And into the Night We Play)
    2. Callin’ All Cats (The Cats are Callin’)
    3. Run (Move Away)
    4. Some Other New Address
    5. Hard Drugs (Are Bad for You)
    6. Jungle in My Blood
    7. Got My Beliefs
    8. With a Smile Like That (How Could We Refuse)
    9. Homesick & Horny

Bonus Tracks:

  1. Callin' All Cats (The Cats Are Callin') (single version)
  2. All I Wanna Do is Rock (previously unreleased studio jam)


Aussie rock icon Ross Wilson has been at the helm of two of Australia ’s biggest bands (Daddy Cool and Mondo Rock) plus one of our more obscure: Mighty Kong. Mighty Kong lasted less than a year, but they did leave us with one terrific and underrated album: All I Wanna Do Is Rock.

When Daddy Cool broke up in August 1972, Wilson and Ross Hannaford set about forming a new band that would explore a heavier style that harked back to the pre-DC days of Sons Of The Vegetal Mother and The Party Machine. After some initial changes - that at one stage included Tim Gaze (Tamam Shud / Kahvas Jute) and Gulliver Smith (Company Caine), the final line-up was settled with Wilson, Hannaford, Russell Smith (Company Caine), Tim Partridge (Company Caine) and Ray Arnott (Spectrum). Signing to the newly formed Wizard Records, the band recorded All I Wanna Do Is Rock with American producer John Fischbach. The album came out in December 1973 along with the single “Callin’ All Cats (The Cats Are Callin’)”.

With a mixture of funky hard rockers like “Hard Drugs (Are Bad For You)” and “Homesick And Horny” and two terrific Gulliver Smith / Russell Smith penned ballads “Some Other New Address” and “With A Smile Like That (How Could We Refuse)” Mighty Kong seemed poised for success. But, despite some enthusiastic reviews and excellent live shows, Mighty Kong were still overshadowed by the spectre of Daddy Cool. Wizard’s decision to release a Daddy Cool live album and a swag of DC singles just before the release of the Mighty Kong album did not help matters either.

The success of the Daddy Cool material eventually led to a one-off Daddy Cool appearance at the 1974 Sunbury Festival. Their performance was so well received that, two weeks later, Daddy Cool reformed and Mighty Kong were no more. Still…it makes an excellent “what if” story and this reissue is a reminder of the varied repertoire from one of Australia ’s all-time talents. Of course, after Daddy Cool broke up for a second time in 1975, Wilson formed Mondo Rock and had another successful run.

Package Contents

Packaged in our collectors 6 panel digi-pak, book with liner notes and photos.


Aztec Records, devoted to providing you original, rare and re-issues of the best Rock and Jazz music from Australia and Around the World.