Aztec Records

Madder Lake: Stillpoint

Aztec Records / Aztec Music

Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Release Date: March 24, 2009
Format: Audio CD
Label: Aztec Music

Track Listing

  1. Salmon Song
  2. On My Way to Heaven
  3. Helper
  4. Listen to the Morning Sunshine
  5. Goodbye Lollipop
  6. Song for Little Ernest
  7. 12-Lb. Toothbrush
  8. Bonus Tracks:

  9. Bumper Bar Song
  10. Bumper Bar Song
  11. 12-Lb. Toothbrush
  12. Country Blues
  13. Sunbury 1973

  14. Down the River
  15. 12-Lb. Toothbrush from Garrison: The Final Blow Unit 1 October 1973
  16. Bumper Bar Song
  17. When is a Mouse


Released in 1973, Stillpoint remains one of the most innovative and enduring progressive albums of the period.

The two hit singles released from the album: "Goodbye Lollipop" (the first ever release on the maverick Mushroom label) and "12-lb Toothbrush" (the monster crowd favourite, with its distinctive "na na na nanana na" vocal hook) were balanced by the longer, psychedelic blues of album tracks like "Salmon Song" and "Listen To The Morning Sunshine".

Recorded in just six days, Stillpoint highlights Madder Lake’s distinctive sound which was mostly due to the combination of Fettes unique (often effects laden) vocals, Mason’s understated blues-tinged guitar playing, the sparse yet effective use of McKinnon’s keyboards and the agile drive of the rhythm section.

In addition to the vocal effects the band used fuzz bass and a bass pedal which is easily mistaken for a synthesizer, while Mason’s subtle use of wah wah to produce shimmering explosions of sound gives the album an almost otherworldly quality.

Included in this deluxe package are 7 bonus tracks, including rare b-sides and live performances from Sunbury 1973 and Garrison.

Package Contents

Digitally remastered from the original tapes, is packaged in a 6 panel digi-pak, with a 24 page booklet.


Aztec Records, devoted to providing you original, rare and re-issues of the best Rock and Jazz music from Australia and Around the World.