Aztec Records

Billy Thorpe and the Aztecs - Steaming At The Opera House

Aztec Records / Aztec Music

Audio CD
Number of Discs: 2
Release Date: March 2011
Format: Audio CD
Label: Aztec Music


Track Listing

Disc 1 – Acoustic Set

    1. All I Can Do Is Sing
    2. Cigarettes and Whisky
    3. Don’t You Know You’re Changing
    4. One Day You’ll Lose It
    5. Imagine Normal Days
    6. What Year Is It?
    7. No More War
    8. Not Another Bloody War
    9. Last Moments

Bonus Tracks: Songs from the Acoustic Set left off the original LP

  1. Back Home in Australia
  2. I’m Tired
  3. You Win Again

Disc 2 - (with guests: Lobby Loyde, Kevin Murphy and Johnny Dick)

    1. God
    2. Time To Live
    3. Be Bop A Lula
    4. Ain’t Going Down Again
    5. Ball Biter
    6. Oop Poo Pa Doo

Bonus Track:

  1. Yes I’m Tired (single B-side)


First time on CD for the 1974 double LP - live at the iconic Sydney Opera House. Many tracks are unique to this rare album and are a must for any self-respecting Aztecs / Aussie music fan!

The line-up of Billy Thorpe, Gil 'Rats' Matthews, Warren 'Pig' Morgan and Teddy Toi was the same as on the More Arse Than Class album, their most fully realized studio set.

The concert opens with an acoustic set (yes, that's right, the loudest band in the country go acoustic!) that leads into Morgan's epic 'War' suite. The second half of the concert adds guest musicians Lobby Loyde, Kevin Murphy & Johnny Dick (all former members of the Aztecs, the last two on drums, so yes, there's three drummers playing at once!). It's an all-out noise fest that features faves 'Time To Live'. 'Oop Poo Pa Doo' the Coloured Balls' classic 'God' and a three-way drum solo called 'Ball Biter'.

The original concert was too long to fit onto a double LP and we have added the dropped tracks as bonuses. 'Back Home In Australia' originally appeared as the B-side to the 'Cigarettes And Whisky' single, but the other two have remained unreleased until now - a real find! Plus 'Yes I'm Tired', which originally appeared as the B-side to the 'Don't You Know You're Changing' single.

Four bonus tracks: 2 rare b-sides and two previously unreleased tracks from the acoustic set.

Package Contents

Digitally remastered by Gil Matthews, liner notes by Ian MacFarlane. Deluxe 8-panel digi-pak presentation.


Aztec Records, devoted to providing you original, rare and re-issues of the best Rock and Jazz music from Australia and Around the World.