Aztec Records

Broderick Smith's Big Combo

Aztec Records / Aztec Music

Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Release Date: September, 2010
Format: Audio CD
Label: Aztec Music

Track Listing

  1. Last Train from Mobiltown
  2. Faded Roses
  3. Tightrope
  4. High Rise
  5. Back Off Baby Brother
  6. I Was Here
  7. Fortune Favours the Bold
  8. My Father’s Hands
  9. The Devil Drives (Ray’s Song)
  10. Ruby in the Snow
  11. Bonus Tracks:

  12. Mr. B is Leaving Town


After his time with Aussie legends Carson and The Dingoes, Broderick Smith (one of Australia's greatest voices) assembled an enviable group of musicians, christened Broderick Smith's Big Combo.

oining him were: Mal Eastick (guitar - ex-Stars), Mick O'Connor (organ - ex-Mark Gillespie Band), Chris Wilson (piano, guitar - ex-Buster Brown), Graham Thompson (bass - ex-Stars, Russell Morris Band) and John Annas (drums - ex-Atlas, Kevin Borich Express).

The band soon became one of the country's biggest live attractions and was signed to Glenn Wheatley's W.B.E. label. They recorded their self-titled album at AAV in Melbourne with Ernie Rose producing. The album would feature four singles - the first two: 'Faded Roses' and 'My Father's Hands' became top 40 hits (as did the LP), followed by 'High Rise' and 'Ruby In The Snow'.

Included is a bonus non-LP B-side: 'Mr. B Is Leaving Town'.

Package Contents

Deluxe reissue has been remastered by Gil Matthews, packaged in a 6 panel digi-pak with 24pp booklet. The liner notes were written by Ian McFarlane and features quotes from a recent interview with Broderick Smith.


Aztec Records, devoted to providing you original, rare and re-issues of the best Rock and Jazz music from Australia and Around the World.