Aztec Records

Tumbleweed: The Waterfront Years 1991-1993

Aztec Records / Aztec Music

Audio CD
Number of Discs: 2
Release Date: November 15, 2010
Format: Audio CD
Label: Aztec Music


Track Listing

Disc 1 - Singles, EPs & Rarities (1991-1993)

  1. Captain’s Log
  2. Space Friends
  3. Healer
  4. Stoned
  5. Holy Moses
  6. Carousel
  7. Millennium
  8. Shakedown
  9. Fish out of Water
  10. Come & Get It
  11. Fritz
  12. The Sky is High
  13. Rainbow Waterwillow
  14. Funky
  15. Lullaby
  16. Sundial
  17. Sweet Young Thing
  18. Mr. Pharmacist
  19. Mad, Mad, Mad
  20. 48 Brain Cells

Disc Two - Tumbleweed

    1. Sundial
    2. Healer
    3. White Skin Black Soul
    4. A Darkness at Never Never
    5. God
    6. Ocean
    7. Dandylion Part 1
    8. Atomic
    9. Acid Rain
    10. Starseed
    11. Dreamchaser/li>
    12. Dandylion Part 2

Bonus Tracks:
CD single

  • Daddy Long Legs
  • Junior
  • Trouble Every Day

  • Description

    Although often lumped into the 'grunge' movement (a national support to Nirvana's only Australian tour in 1992 only added to this), Tumbleweed's sound was arguably more 'stoner rock', and closer in style to bands like Kyuss and earlier antecendents like Black Sabbath or Australia's Buffalo.

    With their high-riffing, fuzz-drenched, wah wah guitar, propulsive beats and and languid vocal melodies - and the hair...oh, so much hair! - Tumbleweed rose quickly to become one of Australia's most popular bands of the early nineties. Armed with a great image (enhanced by guitarist Lenny's striking artwork) and a swag of memorable tunes, the band also enjoyed success in the UK, Europe and US.

    In 1991, Tumbleweed signed to Sydney's legendary Waterfront Records and, in a little over two years, released some classic singles and EP's (including 'Daddy Long Legs', 'Sundial', 'Acid Rain' & 'Stoned') plus a self-titled album - all of which achieved the rare feat of both critical and commercial success.

    We have collected all 35 tracks from that fertile period into a 2CD set. Some rarities, such as their first single 'Captain's Log' / 'Space Friends' - produced by Mudhoney's Mark Arm - make their first appearance on CD.

    Package Contents

    Deluxe 2CD release was digitally remastered by Gil Matthews, Liner notes are by Kate Hennessey, with a second set of notes from Ian McFarlane - all packaged in an 8 panel digi-pak with a 28 page booklet packed with lots of rare photos, Lenny's terrific drawings and images of all releases.


    Aztec Records, devoted to providing you original, rare and re-issues of the best Rock and Jazz music from Australia and Around the World.