Aztec Records

Wendy Saddington & The Copperwine LIVE

Aztec Records / Aztec Music

Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Release Date: July 25, 2011
Format: Audio CD
Label: Aztec Music

Track Listing

  1. Backlash Blues
  2. Just like Tom Thumb’s Blues
  3. Tomorrow Never Knows
  4. Five People Said I was Crazy
  5. Blues in ‘A’
  6. Bonus Tracks:
    Single (July 1971)

  7. Looking Through a Window
  8. We Need a Song
  9. Looking Through a Window (edit)


Wendy Saddington was one of Australia's finest singers and a highly influential (but sadly under-recorded) musical pioneer.

Her early days saw such notable appearances as a member of James Taylor Move and The Beaten Tracks with Warren Morgan and Phil Manning (which she rechristened Chain).

In March 1970, Wendy joined Copperwine and it was with this group that this album was recorded - live at the Wallacia Festival in January 1971, her incredible blues-soul voice captured in full flight. Side one of the original LP contained three terrific covers: Nina Simone’s ‘Backlash Blues’, Bob Dylan’s ‘Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues’ and a hypnotic, slowed down, 8+ minute version of The Beatles’ ‘Tomorrow Never Knows’. Side two contained two Saddington / Copperwine originals: ‘Five People Said I Was Crazy’ and ‘Blues In A’.

3 bonus tracks, including the 1971 top 30 hit 'Looking Through A Window' - recorded with Chain and Billy Thorpe.

Package Contents

Remastered by Gil Matthews from the original tapes. Liner notes by Ian McFarlane. 28 page booklet with many rare photos.


Aztec Records, devoted to providing you original, rare and re-issues of the best Rock and Jazz music from Australia and Around the World.