Aztec Records

Tamam Shud - Evolution (Bonus Track Edition)

Aztec Records / Aztec Music

Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Release Date: July 25, 2017
Format: Audio CD
Label: Aztec Music


Track Listing

Disc 1

Evolution (1969)
  1. (a) Music Train
    (b) Evolution
  2. I’m No One
  3. Mr. Strange
  4. Lady Sunshine
  5. Falling Up
  6. Feel Free
  7. It’s A Beautiful Day
  8. Jesus Guide Me
  9. Rock On Top
  10. The Slow One And The Fast One
  11. Too Many Life
    Bonus Tracks – Singles
    The 4 Strangers (1965)
  12. You’ll Be Mine
  13. Sad And Lonely
    The Sunsets (1965-1967)
  14. Bye Bye, Goodbye
  15. It’s The End
  16. When I Found You
  17. Don’t Get Around Much Anymore
  18. Theme From A Life In The Sun
  19. Windansea
  20. Love’s Face
  21. I Want Love
  22. The Hot Generation
  23. This Is What It’s All About
  24. Animal
  25. Uptight, Out Of Sight


Aztec continues its Digitally Remastered CD reissues programme of classic Australian rock albums, this time presenting the landmark 1969 LP by pioneering progressive-psych rock band TAMAM SHUD - Evolution.

The name Tamam Shud is indeed a legendary one, with a highly regarded status in the annals of Australian rock music. Led by singer/guitarist/songwriter Lindsay Bjerre, the Shud was one of the first local acts to embrace developments in the world of acid rock. The group issued two ground-breaking albums, Evolution (1969) and Goolutionites And The Real People (1970) which, based on musical quality alone, represented much that was new and exciting on the late 1960s / early 1970s Aussie rock scene. And with links to the local surfing culture which was based around freedom of expression, expanded consciousness and getting back to nature, they were at the local epicentre of a worldwide counter-cultural youth movement.

In the autumn of 1969 film maker Paul Witzig invited the Shud to record the soundtrack to his surfing movie, Evolution. Having financed the soundtrack session in return for being able to use the songs on his soundtrack, Witzig donated the left-over studio time to the band so they could record a few tracks of their own. Developing the soundtrack ideas further, and taking full advantage of the situation the quartet recorded an entire album, live-in-the-studio, in two and a half hours. The result was Evolution, one of the first wholly original acid rock albums produced in Australia and a remarkable example of new developments in the musical epoch of the day.

Evolution boasts a heavy, raucous sound with a bluesy trace still evident in the heavier psych rock moves, and added jazzy touches as displayed on the single ‘Lady Sunshine’. As a bonus, this CD edition includes all the singles by pre-Shud bands The 4 Strangers and The Sunsets - 14 extra tracks!

Package Contents

This deluxe CD version is packaged in a handsome 4 panel digi-pak. Digitally remastered audio by Gil Matthews, it sounds better than ever, with a 24-page booklet colour booklet with rare photos and liner notes by Ian McFarlane is a must-have for fans of Classic Aussie Rock.



Aztec Records, devoted to providing you original, rare and re-issues of the best Rock and Jazz music from Australia and Around the World.