Aztec Records

Colored Balls - The First Supper Last

Aztec Records / Aztec Music

Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Release Date: Jun 28, 2019
Format: Audio CD
Label: Aztec Music


Aztec Records continues the Lobby Loyde digitally remastered CD re-issue programme with Colored Balls’ 1976 album The First Supper Last. (Or, as it states on the front cover “The First Supper Last” or Scenes We Didn’t Get to See.)

Of course, the album has been available on CD before. This is the first time, however, that the complete audio as heard on the original vinyl pressing has been reproduced. Remastering expert Gil Matthews discovered that several segments had been lopped off when the first digital transfer was undertaken for the 1997 CD.

He has now restored the full audio, with one minute of bird and animal sound effects returned to the end of ‘So Glad You’re Mine’, the studio chatter returned to the start of ‘Liberate Rock Part Two Revisited’ and the correct ending of the same song now back in place.

For authentic Australian rock action, Colored Balls were the real deal. The band’s album The First Supper Last almost didn’t see the light of day. Recorded at Armstrong Studios, South Melbourne in October 1972, passed over in the rush when the Balls signed to EMI in June 1973, it was finally released on vinyl briefly in May 1976.

It’s a splendid album, and here’s your chance to hear why. The tracks are ragged to say the least, but they capture the band’s early promise. They range from first-rate, dirty rock ’n’ boogie, to high speed 12-bar rockers, to chiming guitar pop.

Aztec have added as bonus material a previously unreleased Balls concert recording (November 1972, Festival Hall 3XY concert). Unheard for over 45 years, the three tracks represent a significant historical statement and document a band at the peak of its live powers.

You get two sides of the Balls: their progressive tendencies mixed with their incendiary rock ’n’ roll roots, the crushing guitar riffs coming at you like a relentless wrecking ball, the rhythm section like a runaway locomotive, the whole thing a potent mass of energy. Included is a savage version of the spiralling, heavy cosmic epic ‘God’ - with rare Lobby vocal! It’s raw, it’s primal, it’s unhinged (like all good rock ’n’ roll should be).

Package Contents

This deluxe CD version is packaged in a 4 panel digi-pak. Digitally remastered audio by Gil Matthews, it sounds better than ever, with a colour booklet, rare photos and liner notes by Ian McFarlane is a must-have for fans of Classic Aussie Rock.

Track Listing

     Summer Jam (Live, Sunbury 1973)
  1. Time Shapes
  2. Mean Mouth Lives
  3. So Glad You're Mine
  4. Working Man's Boogie
  5. Johnny B. Goode
  6. Love Me Girl Because
  7. Mama Loves To
  8. Liberate Rock Part Two Revisited
    LIVE - 3XY Concert, Festival Hall, Melbourne, 11th November 1972
  9. God
  10. Johnny B. Goode
  11. Liberate Rock


Aztec Records, devoted to providing you original, rare and re-issues of the best Rock and Jazz music from Australia and Around the World.