Aztec Records

Lobby Loyde: Obsecration

Aztec Records / Aztec Music

Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Release Date: August 28, 2006
Format: Audio CD
Label: Aztec Music

Track Listing

  1. Obsecration Parts A to D
  2. a. Play My Guitar
    b. Obligato
    c. Continuation
    d. Legato
  3. A Rumble with Seven Parts and Lap Dissolve
  4. Rock and Roll Sunset
  5. Dreamtide
  6. a. Statement
    b. Refrain
  7. Goin’ to Louisianna
  8. Congratulateonies
  9. Bonus Tracks:
    Solo Single, December 1975

  10. Do You Believe in Magic (A-side)
  11. Love Lost on Dream-Tides (B-side)
  12. Lobby Loyde & Southern Electric Too Poor to Die EP
    (Previously Unreleased)

  13. Gypsy in My Soul
  14. Too Poor to Die
  15. Desperate for a Quid
  16. Fist of Is
  17. a. At the Colosseum
    b. The Fist Falls


Featuring an incredibly eclectic and diverse assortment of music, all up a magnificent album of guitar explorations and textures, a thematic collection of riffs, runs, rhythms and timing shifts taking the listener through a wide range of moods and styles. If anything, it lacked a commercial focus but as we’ve seen Loyde was well and truly beyond working within commercial considerations at the time. One thing is certain: his beautiful, at times heavy yet always unique psych-rock guitar work is the main feature throughout.

Package Contents

Obsecration is packaged in a 6 panel digi-pak, with liner notes by Ian McFarlane and Glenn Terry, digitally remastered, has 6 bonus tracks and many rare photos.


Aztec Records, devoted to providing you original, rare and re-issues of the best Rock and Jazz music from Australia and Around the World.