Aztec Records

Coloured Balls: Ball Power

Aztec Records / Aztec Music

Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Release Date: September 4, 2006
Format: Audio CD
Label: Aztec Music

Track Listing

  1. Flash
  2. Mama Don’t You Get Me Wrong
  3. Won’t You Make Up Your Mind
  4. Something New
  5. B.P.R
  6. Human Being
  7. Whole Lotta Shakin’
  8. Hey! What’s Your Name
  9. That’s What Mama Said
  10. Bonus Tracks: Singles, 1972-1973

  11. Liberate Rock (Single A-side)
  12. Slowest Guitar on Earth (Single B-side)
  13. Mr. Mean Mouth (Single A-side)
  14. Love Me Girl (Single B-side)
  15. Mess of the Blues (Single A-side)
  16. Devil’s Disciple (Single B-side)
  17. Live at Sunbury, 1973

  18. GOD


One of the great progressive hard rock LPs of the era, Ball Power really had a lot going for it: great songs, inspirational playing, attitude to burn and an experimental edge that would have frightened the hell out of any lesser band. The overall excellence of Ball Power makes for quality listening all the way through.

The songs range from the crunching, melodic hard rock of ‘Flash’ and ‘Hey! What’s Your Name’ to the simple, raw rock’n’roll of ‘Mama Don’t Get Me Wrong’ and ‘Won’t You Make Up Your Mind’ (a proto-typical punk ball-tearer at a breathtakingly brief one minute and 32 seconds) and a raucous cover of the Jerry Lee Lewis standard ‘Whole Lotta Shakin’’. In between there are the sleazy blues of ‘Something New’ and ‘B.P.R.’ plus progressive, guitar-heavy monsters like ‘Human Being’ and ‘That’s What Mama Said’. Included as a bonus track is the 16+ minute live version of 'GOD'

Package Contents

Ball Power, digitally remastered and presented in a 6 panel digi-pak with a 24 page booklet filled with rare photos & liner notes by Ian McFarlane.


Aztec Records, devoted to providing you original, rare and re-issues of the best Rock and Jazz music from Australia and Around the World.